la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Day 1 – Back at UCSB

Over these past 4 months I’ve been very lucky. From all the little awkward moments, I didn’t *really* experience culture shock.

But now I’m back at UCSB for my 4th and final year, and I feel a little funny. Things are off-kilter and just, well, different!

Today is Sunday, the 23rd, which means it’s still move-in weekend here. I got in yesterday, and I got the strange feeling that my home…isn’t really my home. It sounds weird, but there is a lot of the student population I’ve never ever seen before (all the 1st and 2nd years); restaurants are different; shops are gone; my room is different.

Wait…what’s going on?

Luckily I ran into three people who were studying abroad last year, and it was SUCH a relief to see familiar faces. I’m feeling a little lost right now, but it’s nice to know that I’m not alone feeling this way – even though I wish none of us felt this way.

I thought I was going to be right back into my element, but now that I’m here, I realize I have to adjust all over again.

I guess I’m just going to have to find a new path this year —

Let’s see where it takes me!

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2012 by in General.
