la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Studying abroad: leap of faith!

Studying abroad was a leap of faith: I knew little about France when I signed up and had only passed the elementary level of French at my university (though admittedly I took 3 years of it back in high school!); I knew little of the culture, its educational system, its history, its norms, or its people. But I took that jump to apply, and I’m glad I did!

I read up on France before I came (best website: http://www.understandfrance.org/ ; best book: French or Foe by Polly Platt ; other good books: Pardon my French by Charles Timoney & Sixty Million Frenchmen Can’t be Wrong by Jean-Benoît Nadeau and Julie Barlow), but reading up on something is a whole different thing than actually experiencing it.

So the leap was nerve-racking, but, in the end, very much appreciated! :) We do some things without getting lots of information…but traveling and studying abroad has made me much more open to being okay with not knowing what’s going to happen than I ever have been in my entire life!

Here’s a visual description:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2012 by in General, Student Life abroad, Travel and tagged .
