la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Rain

« Il y a des pluies de printemps délicieuses où le ciel a l’air de pleurer de joie.  » -Paul-Jean Toulet

“There are sweet spring rainfalls when the sky looks like it’s crying out of joy.”
_____________________________________

It’s no secret that the French’s favorite color to wear is black, and that extends to everything – shoes, purse, umbrella, etc. But I have a BRIGHT red one that I bought in Berlin) :) Most people don’t wear rainboots here – as I found out during the first rain last semester – and when they do, they’re, well, black rainboots! For the pretty colors and prints on rainboots I have seen, I’ve later learned that the wearer is American! I used to be intimidated and shy about wearing bright colors here, but now I relish in it (but my experience has taught me to appreciate wearing black sometimes, and now I actually own more black and darker clothes than I have in my life). But I still think it’s nice to add a jolt of color to life, especially on rainy days!

P.S. Bagel shops (especially New York inspired) seem to be à la mode here! Well, at least among the young’uns.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2012 by in General and tagged .
