la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Reading en français, seeking out knowledge, and being curious

With my time here in France, I’ve been doing more reading and writing of French than I ever thought I would. So that means I know longer feel like this little dude when I pick up a French newspaper:

(though it probably doesn’t help that he’s holding the book upside down!)

It took a lot of time and energy to finally get to that point, but now that I can read it pretty comfortably it’s unbelievably satisfying. It’s like a new part of the world (and my brain) was opened up to me that I’ve never gotten to access before.

And now I’m reading about psychology in French, and I’m reading the original French text of Jules Verne!

You probably know this already, but I like taking the time in learning about new things. And if you do too, take a look at this quote:

_____________________________________

« La curiosité n’est pas un goût pour ce qui est bon ou ce qui est beau, mais pour ce qui est rare, unique, que les autres n’ont point ; ce n’est pas un amusement mais une passion.  »

– François de La Rochefoucauld

“Curiosity isn’t a taste for what’s good or what’s beautiful, but for what is rare, unique, and what others have not discovered; it’s not an amusement but a passion.”

_____________________________________

Picture credit for kids learning: http://samingersoll.com/category/success-skills/learning-success-skills/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in Books in French, Student Life abroad and tagged .
