la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Lyon: where I live! (My Life in Lyon, Part I)

I moved out of my host stay last semester back in December, and I’ve been in this lovely apartment ever since! I got really lucky in finding this place thanks to the very handy internet, and more specifically, appartager.com (and my study abroad friends who told me about it!)

I live on the Presqu’Ile (“Almost Island”, pr-esque-E-l), which is at the heart of the city and is called such because it’s bordered by two rivers – the Rhône and the Saône. The Presqu’île is home to the 1st and 2nd arrondissement (air-ron-deez-mont), or districts, of the 9 districts here in Lyon.

I live on the deuxième étage, which translates into the 2nd floor, but it really means the 3rd if you use our American system. The French count the bottom floor as 0 or more typically as the rez-de-chaussée (ray-duh-ch-au-sey), which show up on elevators as 0, RDC, or RC. But I don’t have an elevator, and neither do most buildings on the Presqu’île (or in France in general compared to the US – and some of the elevators at the university are restricted to teachers and staff!!). Good thing I don’t live too far up, because I’m not fond of stairs.

But when I do go up or down them, I get a nice view of the architecture of the building:

The streets are just so, for lack of a better descriptor, French!

I live close to a métro stop and one of the main shopping areas of Lyon: Rue Victor Hugo. I’ve never lived in a city before, but I can definitely see the perks of having everything you need within walking distance: banks, grocery stores, pharmacies, public transportation, etc.

The street during the annual Fête des Lumières (“Festival of Lights”, fet-day-loom-E-air)

picture credits: Lyon (http://www.mairie6.lyon.fr/vdl/sections/fr/pied/numeros_durgence_1/?aIndex=2), Rue Victor Hugo (http://www.panoramio.com/photo/7713385)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2012 by in General.
