la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Courage

«Il faut savoir ce que l’on veut. Quand on le sait, il faut avoir le courage de le dire; quand on le dit, il faut avoir le courage de le faire.»
-Georges Clemenceau

“It’s necessary to know what you want. When you know what it is, it’s necessary to have the courage to say what it is; when you say what it is, it’s necessary to have the courage to do it.”

_____________________________________

I am so thankful to be abroad, but it feels like this is creating a pause in my life back in the United States (which makes sense, because I’m not there!). Although I’m gaining invaluable experiences — cultural sensitivity, a broadened perspective of the world, self-confidence, and so much more — I never planned to have this experience be a means to an end. It’s not really in the big picture right now, but trusting in the chaos theory in its application to life, it’ll fit in there somewhere :)

I’ve always loved school and have been a nerd by nature; it’s just who I am :) Soo as my undergraduate career at UCSB comes to a close, I am trying my best to set myself for graduate school and a lifetime of academia.

I’ve been slowly coming to understand, focus, and combine my passions over the years. At this point in my life, my long-term goal is to become a psychology professor (I know, it’s quite a long path…but I think I’m really going to love it!).

For me right now, that means applying to summer internships in psychology labs across the United States hoping that I will get the opportunity to work in a lab of a truly interesting topic with truly caring people. It’s a bit harder finding these labs and asking for references when I’m not currently at my university, but I’m doing my best. I definitely have worked on narrowing my research interests; now I have to find the connections between these possible labs and the topics that I love.

Fingers crossed!

_____________________________________

Image credit: be you (http://weheartit.com/entry/22250965); chaos theory (http://www.referenceforbusiness.com/management/Bun-Comp/Chaos-Theory.html)

One comment on “Courage

  1. Xoan
    March 19, 2012

    I believe in you :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2012 by in General and tagged .
