la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

The Countdown

Less than 2 months?

Time is ticking away for my study abroad experience! It’s gone by so fast; I can barely believe that I’m actually living in France!

And not only that: I’ve read whole novels in French, translated passages, written French academic papers, had multiple long French presentations, and created sonnets, stories, ads, and more. I’ve spoken, written, and read more French than I really ever thought I would — in high school, I never thought I would continue to study French, let alone visit France. And here I am now!

I’ve tried more cheeses than I have ever imagined, and I actually like some of them! I was really missing out of not getting the “exotic” cheese (heheh, funny, because a lot of them are standard here!) at Trader Joe’s or in the fancy aisle of the grocery store.

And I’ve been to Paris! Seeing the Eiffel Tower lit up at night for the first time was like a dream. Just being in the city itself is something amazing! To have eaten macaroons from Ladurée, stood beneath the summit of Sacre Coeur, climbed to the top of l’Arc de Triomph, seen the tomb of Napoleon, ridden along the Seine…

And before I know it, the day will come to return back home!

Ratatouille pictures: http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/filmblog/2007/jun/25/week, http://jeffreyleow.wordpress.com/2007/09/28/ratatouille-nicoise/


One comment on “The Countdown

  1. Pingback: Market traders help France’s poor amid soaring food prices. « This Day – One Day

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2012 by in Student Life abroad.
