la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Forced Resting Time, Part II

Sooo one of the problems with living in a foreign country is that you can’t necessarily find the things you’re used to.

When I’m sick, I want saltine crackers, 7-up, WonderBread, peach tea, and some jello. Turns out I can’t find any of that here! So I got the substitutes: Petit Beurre crackers (which are sweet, not salty), …water…, this weird bread sold without and crust, peppermint tea, and, unfortunately no substitute for jello :(.

Well at least I have some food to eat now, and I’m happy that I’ve been able to eat anything!

Another weird thing: the yogurt here doesn’t list “live and active cultures” like it does in the States. So I have no idea if the yogurt I have been eating has any of that good stuff. Though it probably (hopefully) does, I went on the safe side and bought some of that Activa stuff, since that’s what it’s whole brand is based off of. Doesn’t taste as bad as I thought! And I think it’s working to repair my poor abused intestines (I hope).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2012 by in General.
