la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Going back to CA…when?

I may be going back a lot sooner than I had thought! All my classes, as far as I know, are all ending end of April/very early May. I need to stay 1-2 weeks after the scheduled exam date in case the professors miss a day before then — which means that the exam date would get pushed back into the “rattrapage” (make-up) weeks.

That means I’ll probably be able to go back to California as early as mid-May!

I do have to confirm exam dates with the students in my classes, and if they don’t know, I have to ask the professor. There’s much more of a barrier here between student and teacher, and everyone is afraid of looking–or becoming–incredibly inferior to the professor.

The classes I finally ended up picking have pretty nice teachers open to foreign students, but I’m still trying to stay on my guard a little bit.

Because cultural slip-ups here pretty much make me feel like this:

But that means that I may have as little as 2 months (plus a couple of weeks) left here in France. Weird reality check. I know it’s going to go by fast! Right now, that sounds pretty good, since I’ve been getting bouts of homesickness as of late. But I can’t image what that’s going to feel like before it’s almost done.

Picture credit: http://www.pixar.com/shorts/ftb/index.html

One comment on “Going back to CA…when?

  1. Anni Sheh
    February 27, 2012

    Heehee my favorite Pixar short ever! Wow mid-May! That’s doesn’t seem that far away :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2012 by in General.
