la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Music: Corneille

From my experience searching for French music, I have come to the conclusion that most of it sounds really sad. Many songs are slow & melodic and sung with breathy vocals (and if you don’t know what I mean, go listen to Carla Bruni), which, don’t get me wrong, can be absolutely beautiful in the right circumstances.

But I don’t always want to listen to this type of music, so I was pleasantly surprised when I heard the new album from R&B singer Corneille :) Here’s one of the new songs:

Dis moi que tu m’aimes (Tell me that you love me)

He’s actually Canadian, and he sings in both French and in English. This is pretty common: many popular or well-known singers who sing in French almost always have done at least one song in English, mainly to open up their work to anglophone markets.

________

The other type of music that you’ll find in French is dance music and rap music. I haven’t found a lot that I like in those categories (or any other categories), but when I do I’ll be sure to post them :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2012 by in French & Francophone Music.
