la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Cirque du Soleil

For the first time this year abroad, I went to see a show here in Lyon. This will probably be the only show I see before I leave to go back to the States. I bought the tickets a long time ago, sometime last semester. Probably on an off day – I don’t normally buy frivolous things like this!

It was a performance of Cirque du Soleil (literally “Circus of the Sun”) called “Alegría” (which I believe is Spanish for “joy”):

From the official Cirque du Soleil website

the description: “homage to the energy, the grace, and the power of youth”

The last time I saw Cirque du Soleil, I was probably about 8, and it was in a huge tent in the parking lot of the HP Pavilion in San Jose. I remember being slightly freaked out by all the makeup and the weirdness going on; I remember it being cool but that’s about it!

The performance was an alteration between the cool, sleek acrobats and the clumsy, traditional clowns. I dunno if their shows are always like that, but I get kinda freaked out by clowns, especially when they’re close up. One clown was going around the audience before the show started and I’m just glad I had a row of people in front of me!

Well, kinda. Like magic, the tallest person in the venue was assigned the seat in front of mine. But it’s not like I’m not used to it by now, so I just rolled up my jacket, put down my book, and sat on them. Worked like a charm!

Boom! Makeshift booster seat, probably not any more comfortable than these, though :P

It was a good show, with fire juggling, trapeze artists, contortionists, and the like. It was at the Halle Tony Garnier, which is pretty nondescript and a 10 minute walk away from the nearest metro stop. They also take your cameras and hold them until the end of the show because the flashes are dangerous for the performers.

It was weird to hear the announcements at the beginning of the show, because the performer had probably just learned that snippet of French for the show. But I feel like my accent has made a lot of progress (especially from high school, when I was scared to death to say anything in French)!

Even though I liked the show, I can’t say that I love (or like) clowns now! We’ll have to see if Modern Family can accomplish that goal!

And if you want to see the YouTube montage of Alegría, click here!

Picture credits: seats (http://www.indytheatrehabit.com/2010/03/13/theatre-review-the-101-dalmatians-musical-at-clowes/); Cam (http://www.dvdizzy.com/modernfamily-season1.html)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2012 by in General and tagged .
