la joie de vivre

From California to Lyon, France: living & studying abroad…and coming back!

Yep, that’s culture shock.

Boy, the language barrier has been a lot harder than what I’ve expected. I really value this experience to learn and grow, but I’m not going to lie, it’s not easy by any means. I have a really hard time understanding what the people around me are saying, especially since French is often compressed when it’s spoken. A lot of the time I find myself giving people a blank stare because all it sounds like gibberish to me right now.

Hopefully I can conquer this stage of culture shock soon and move on; being a foreigner abroad definitely has its ups and downs. At this point, my French can only improve…right? I’ve only been here about a week, but boy is it taxing when I can’t understand AND I can’t express myself well. It, along with a bad case of jet lag, makes every day feel soooo long.

At the end of each day, I think to myself: whew!


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 1, 2011 by in General and tagged .
